Sen. Brown, others commemorate Apollo 11

U. S. Sen. Sherrod Brown of Ohio last week joined with other members of the Senate and House to introduce a bipartisan resolution commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing. The Apollo 11 mission was the spaceflight in which the first two people, including Ohio native Neil Armstrong, walked on the moon.

Brown joined with Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX) and U.S. Representatives Kendra Horn (D-OK) and Brian Babin (R-TX) to introduce the bicameral resolution in both chambers.

The resolution honors the heroic journey of Apollo 11’s three crew members: Neil Armstrong, the first person to walk on the moon; Edwin E. “Buzz” Aldrin Jr., the pilot of the lunar module and second person to walk on the moon; and Michael Collins, the pilot of their Apollo 11 mission’s command module.

“When Neil Armstrong became the first person to step foot on the moon, it was a day when dreams became a reality. The heroes of the Apollo 11 crew – and all of the engineers and workers who made their mission possible – helped the United States make history. I’m pleased to join Sen. Cornyn and Reps. Horn and Babin to mark this mission, honor these Americans and inspire future Ohioans to continue our state’s tradition of breaking barriers in space,” said Brown, who now occupies the late Ohio Senator and astronaut John Glenn’s old office in Washington, DC. 

“Apollo 11’s successful Moon landing not only solidified the United States’ lead in the space race, it also put Houston’s Johnson Space Center on the map as one of the world’s primary innovators in human spaceflight,” Cornyn said. “Neil Armstrong’s iconic words to Mission Control, ‘Houston… the Eagle has landed,’ marked a turning point in space exploration.” 

“Apollo 11 was indeed a giant leap. It inspired and continues to inspire generations to explore. The discoveries and technology that come out of America’s investment in space not only help us better understand the universe but fundamentally change our modern life. Apollo 11 is one of America’s greatest achievements, and I’m proud to work with my colleagues on both sides of the aisle, in the House and the Senate, to co-sponsor this resolution,” Horn said.

“The remarkable American achievement that took place on July 20, 1969, is just as significant now as it was 50 years ago,” Babin said. “When Apollo 11 accomplished its mission, the world recognized the United States as the preeminent spacefaring nation.  I am proud to honor this success, among the greatest in not only American history, but in that of humanity.  As the Ranking Member of the Space and Aeronautics Subcommittee and the Representative for the Johnson Space Center, I am continually working hard to ensure that America builds upon our extraordinary past and continues to lead for the next 50 years – and beyond.”

“The Apollo 11 story is one of grit, perseverance, and limitless possibilities,” said Mackensie Wittmer, executive director of the National Aviation Heritage Area. “The National Aviation Heritage Area and its partners are proud that Neil Armstrong called southwest Ohio home. This year the Heritage Area will celebrate the 50th anniversary at the Armstrong Air & Space Museum and across the region to honor the Apollo 11 achievements and to inspire the next generation of space exploration.” 

A copy of their resolution can be found HERE.